| Home |

Transition Dates for Daylight Saving Time are Changing

Starting in 2007, Daylight Saving Time will be extended by 4 weeks in most U.S. and Canadian time zones. Daylight Saving Time will begin the second Sunday in March (3 weeks earlier) and will end the first Sunday in November (1 week later). This change complies with a provision of the Energy Preservation Act of 2005 and affects all U.S. time zones that observe Daylight Saving Time (DST). Many Canadian provinces that share or border these time zones have also announced plans to adopt this change. Daylight Saving Time transition rules are part of time zone definitions maintained by server and workstation operating systems. In addition, a set of GroupWise time zone definitions is maintained by ConsoleOne. These definitions need to be updated with the new transition rules. Calendaring applications, including GroupWise, rely on these definitions to correctly calculate and store appointment times.